skip to main content
Department of Political Science
University of Mississippi

Distinguished Alumni Award

The University of Mississippi Distinguished Alumni Award in Public Service is presented annually by the Department of Political Science faculty to an alumnus or alumna who has exemplified professional leadership, active citizenship, and commitment to the University. Along with professional success, the recipient will have also continuously exemplified the attributes of our University Creed: respect for the dignity of each person, fairness and civility, personal and professional integrity, academic honesty, academic freedom, and good stewardship of our resources. The Award preface states: “To recognize an individual of notable accomplishment whose life and work have reflected distinction upon the University by exemplifying the best of those ideas we pursue in the study of political science.”

Award Recipients

John Winkle


For nearly four decades, UM political science professor John Winkle has impacted the lives of his students and devoted ample time to academic endeavors across campus.

In honor of his years of service, the University of Mississippi has established the John W. Winkle III Fund for Faculty Excellence. The initiative will attract funds for faculty support in the Department of Political Science, providing resources and encouraging the pursuit of excellence in the spirit of Winkle’s devotion to teaching. His honors include UM’s Faculty Achievement Award among others.

Winkle, whose long tenure teaching and advising concluded in the spring of 2013, was chosen to deliver the inaugural Mortar Board Last Lecture, an annual event for the entire UM community to close the traditional academic year. Since 2003, he served as faculty advisor to  the undergraduate Mock Trial team. This opportunity led many students to continue their studies at the UM Law School.

An avid advocate of honors education, Winkle assisted in the transformation of UM’s Honors Program to the Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College. Its academic structure includes the professor’s suggestions of a required senior research thesis and an emphasis on community service.

Among the few faculty selected to lead discussion-based honors classes and sponsor theses, Winkle’s interaction with SMBHC scholars allowed him a front-row seat to see the results of his efforts to strengthen educational opportunities for high-achieving students.

Senior honors student Frances Sullivan said, “Through his lectures and assignments, Dr. Winkle not only challenged us to push oursevles academically but to also our abilities to make a difference in society.”



John Bruce (left), and A.J. Holloway (right). Photo courtesy of Nikki Neely.


Fund Honors Biloxi Mayor, Recognized for Leadership After Katrina

“A.J. Holloway not only was a great athlete at Ole Miss but he has been an outstanding leader in his hometown of Biloxi where he grew up,” said William Winter, Mississippi’s 58th governor. “I regard him not only as my cherished friend, but as one who has brought honor to Ole Miss.”

A Biloxi native, Holloway graduated from the University of Mississippi in 1963. During his time at the university, Holloway played for the 1960 football team, named national champions by the Football Writers Association of America. He competed in two Sugar Bowls and a Cotton Bowl.

Holloway served as business manager for the Biloxi public school system and on the Mississippi Tax Commission before being elected mayor of Biloxi in 1993. He has been integral in pulling the city together after the devastation of Hurricane Katrina.

Using money from private donors, the University of Mississippi has established the A.J. Holloway Fund to provide academic and research support for the department students and faculty. “The fund can serve as seed money to a larger research grant or help fund research-related travel. It can fund student travel or internship costs, and help cover unexpected academic expenses,” said John Bruce, chair of the political science department. “The Holloway Fund plays a crucial role in developing and supporting the academic mission of the department, allowing us to help our faculty and students reach ever-higher levels of scholarship.” 

Donations to the fund can be made online. Make reference to the “A. J. Holloway Developmental Endowment” if donating by credit card. Contributions also can be mailed to the Department of Political Science, University of Mississippi, University, MS 38677, Attn: Holloway.

TIM FORD, 2011


Tim Ford

Representative Ford served Tupelo in the Mississippi House from 1980-2004, the last 16 years as the Speaker. In 2002, Governing Magazine described Tim Ford as “one of the most influential House Speakers in the country today.” He is the first House Speaker in the nation to receive the William M. Bulger Excellence in State Legislative Leadership Award, given annually to a leader who has made significant contributions to the performance, strengthening, and operation of legislatrues. His leadership has earned him the respect of both Democrats and Republicans across Mississippi. Tim Ford is a Partner in Balch & Bingham Law Firm in Jackson.

Balch & Bingham has pledged a gift of $25,000 to endow a Tim Ford Public Service Scholarship. The Tim Ford Scholarship (along with the Brad Dye Public Service Scholarship) supports University of Mississippi students internships in the Mississippi legislature. Along with these scholarships, the Department of Political Science has established a Mississippi State Legislative Internship Program that coincides with our Washington Intership Experience Program. With the support of our friends and alumni, we continue to improve the academic opportunities for University of Mississippi  students.

Make a pledge online to the Tim Ford Public Service Scholarship Fund by clicking here. Please reference “Tim Ford Fund” if you make a credit card payment.



Steve Guyton

Steve Guyton is richly deserving of recognition for his long association with Boys State and Girls State guiding hundreds of young people towards life-changing opportunities in higher education, military service, and politics in addition to his service to our Senators and other elected officials.

Steve Guyton graduated from the University of Mississippi in 1970 with degrees in political science and journalism.

Make a pledge online for a financial gift to support the Steven Guyton Endowment for Student and Faculty Development.

BRAD DYE, 2009


Brad Dye

Brad Dye was the 27th Lieutenant Governor of Mississippi from 1980 until 1992. He is the only individual in state history to serve as lieutenant governor for 12 consecutive years.

Make a gift to the Brad Dye Public Service Scholarship fund.