Department of Political Science

University of Mississippi

News and Events

Winkle’s Vast Contributions Honored with Fund Promoting Faculty Excellence

For nearly four decades, UM political science professor John Winkle has impacted the lives of his students and devoted ample time to academic endeavors across campus. In honor of his years of service, the University of Mississippi has established the John W. Winkle III Fund for Faculty Excellence. The initiative will attract funds for faculty […]

Maj. Gen. James E. Donald Inducted in Alumni Hall of Fame

The highest annual honors for alumni who have made an outstanding contribution through good deeds, services, or contributions, admitted retired Maj. Gen. James E. Donald of Atlanta to the University of Mississippi Alumni Association Hall of Fame in 2012. Donald, former chairman of the Georgia Board of Pardons and Paroles, earned the Bronze Star for his bold […]

Travis Gray

Travis Gray’s Agricultural Policy Analysis

Travis Gray created quite a stir with his presentation at the Southeastern Conference for Public Administration in Coral Springs, Fla. Gray’s honors thesis, “The Economic Impact Analysis of Agricultural Subsidies in Mississippi,” “was the only undergraduate paper accepted for presentation at the 2012 conference. The triple major in political science, public policy leadership, and French, who graduated […]

Recent UM Graduate Elected to Summit Town Council

University of Mississippi graduate Daryl Porter Jr. has taken a step closer to his political goals by becoming the youngest elected councilman for his hometown of Summit. As a student, the political science major was always involved, participating in College Democrats, One Mississippi and Sigma Pi fraternity at the University of Mississippi. And after going […]

Political Science Major Wins International Debate

Taking first place at the China Open at Xi’an International Studies University were Austin “Woody” Wood, a senior political science major from Dallas, and  Isaac Lichlyter, a 2013 UM graduate and Croft International Studies scholar from Pelham, Ala. The two members of the  University of Mississippi forensics team and David Miller, a sophomore political science major from Clinton, represented […]

John Winkle Retires After 39 Years

A beloved professor of political science retires this month, but his calendar will still be full for some time to come. John Winkle, who joined the UM faculty in 1974, has left an indelible mark on the university during his 39-year career as both an academic and a motivator. His colleague, John Bruce, chair and […]

International Career

University of Mississippi junior Shruti Jaishankar of Ridgeland could have attended any college on her long application list in 2010 when she graduated from St. Andrew’s Episcopal School as a National Merit Finalist. In choosing her college destination, Jaishankar held at least two convictions: She knew she wanted to study international relations in preparation for […]

Former UM Linebacker Tackles Meridian Classroom

Former University of Mississippi middle linebacker Jonathan Cornell has gone from breaking through offensive linemen to teaching Meridian High School students about African American literature and public speaking during his first year in the Mississippi Teacher Corps. The February UM School of Education student of the month, Cornell grew up as the youngest of six […]

Doctoral Student’s Fellowship Allows for One-of-a-Kind Research

Perseverance and a unique research proposal led to a Boren Fellowship for a University of Mississippi political science student. “The Boren Fellowship is a highly competitive, national competition,” said Matthew Becker, a Ph.D. candidate in the Department of Political Science. “Being awarded this fellowship is truly an honor, for it shows the importance of my research; this […]

UM Alumni Association Honors 2012 Hall of Fame Inductees

Retired Maj. Gen. James E. Donald (B.A. 1970) of Atlanta was awarded the University of Mississippi Alumni Association’s highest honor when he was inducted into the 2012 Alumni Hall of Fame during Homecoming.  Created in 1974, the Hall of Fame honors those select alumni who have made an outstanding contribution to their country, state or […]